President & Executive Committee

Introducing our Executive Committee (Excom) for BCCJ year 2018-2019, elected at our Annual General Meeting (AGM) on April 26 2018.


David Bickle is currently serving his fifth term as BCCJ President, and is a Tax Partner at Deloitte Tohmatsu Tax Co. He previously worked for Kobe Steel, and has represented Japan in international rugby competitions.

  • Follow David on Twitter @BCCJ_President
  • Read David's monthly articles in BCCJ ACUMEN magazine HERE

Executive Committee

(In alphabetical order)

Alison Beale University of Oxford Japan Office
David Bickle Deloitte Tohmatsu Tax Co.
Mark Dearlove Barclays Securities Japan Limited
James Dodds KPMG
Will Farquhar Aston Martin Japan
Philippe Fauchet OBE GSK K.K.
Iain Ferguson Lloyd’s Japan Inc.
Susumu Kaminaga Individual Member
Tove Kinooka Global Perspectives K.K.
Dr. Florian Kohlbacher The Economist Group
Heather McLeish EY Japan
Reiko Sakimura Clifford Chance Law Office
Noriko Silvester Candlewick Co., Ltd.
Richard Thornley CBE Individual Member
Trevor Webster Taylor Brunswick K.K.


Ex officio Members

Chris Heffer UK Trade and Investment, British Embassy Tokyo
Matt Burney British Council Japan
What does the Excom do? 

The Excom meets once a month to discuss BCCJ business, and review the organisation's progress in promoting the interests of all members. 

Read more about the role of the Excom HERE


Excom Taskforces (6) 

As of May 2018, the following Excom taskforces have been in operation:

(Leader, in brackets)

  • Membership (Iain Ferguson)
  • Events 
  • Communications (Noriko Silvester)
  • Community (Florian Kohlbacher)
  • 2020 Vision / Tokyo Olympics & Paralympics / 2019 Rugby World Cup (Trevor Webster)
  • British Business Awards - BBA 

Excom Roles (5)

Excom members are also taking responsibility for the following functional roles:

  • Finance (James Dodds)
  • Legal (Reiko Sakimura)
  • EBC partnership (Florian Kohlbacher)
  • British Embassy partnership (Chris Heffer)
  • British Council partnership (Matt Burney)